Lindsey Dykman – Internal Vice President

Hey there!  My name is Lindsey, and I’m the Internal Vice President for the UNL SIFE team.  You may have already gotten to know me as “Director of Talent Acquisition,” but I thought I would take a few minutes to introduce myself again.

What’s my major, and why is it funny?

If you had asked me five years ago what I didn’t want to study in college, I would have said, “I REALLY REALLY hope I’m not required to take an economics class.”  Little did I know it would become not only my major, but one of the few true loves of my life.

Where do I come from?

My hometown is located in western Nebraska, not far from the Colorado border to the south and the Wyoming border to the west.  I drive home very infrequently, so my trips there are invaluable.  Thanksgiving break will mark my first time back this year.

While I’m home, I love to sit and play the piano for hours.  I also enjoy fresh air, dirt roads, and long walks in the country.

What has SIFE done for me?

I became a member of UNL SIFE at the start of the 08-09 Spring semester.  After becoming involved in several projects, I realized that SIFE was an organization that would allow me to truly make a difference in both my community and my world.  It wasn’t all about building my resume anymore…it was about impacting people’s lives.

I finished out the remainder of last year as a member of multiple project teams, but I also applied for a leadership position as an officer.  Thankfully, I was appointed Director of Talent Acquisition and given the opportunity to reach out to students through recruitment.  At present, I am serving as the Internal VP.  I’m just beginning to get my feet on the ground, and I’m loving every minute of it.

Thanks a lot for checking out our team website.  The opportunities in SIFE are endless, and I encourage you to take an active role in becoming involved.  Cheers!

One Response to Lindsey Dykman – Internal Vice President

Leave a Reply

